The Parisian Typewriter

Contributed by Photos for Class

By Melanie Stogner

Only one or two cars slowly passed by on the brick road. The city was still asleep. Only a few were up and moving, for example, the baker across the street in his cute quaint shop. You could smell the freshly made bread being baked and crisped to perfection; also, the aroma of freshly brewed tea and coffee being served as a welcoming to the baker’s shop.

There were a few others up, for example, the bikers who wanted to get an early start to their ride in the hustle bustle of the city. And, we cannot forget the men and women walking their dogs that are more awake than their own owners. This was the true Paris. This Paris was the Paris Athena Minerva Lee loved. Why was she up you may ask? Well, she was up because of someone very close to her. Her best friend Savannah.

See, Savannah was absolutely obsessed with antiques. She loved all different kinds of antiques–the old vases and mirrors, the old oil paintings and marble sculptures, and even sometimes the old antique clothes that smelled musty. Athena did not understand Savannah’s obsession for the old. Do not get Athena wrong she loves to learn about the history of Paris. She admires it very much. But, she is also very much happy that she gets to live in the present time.

She loves her modern luxurious apartment, her laptop and her phone. She cannot seem to go without the modern necessities, especially because of a certain famous K-pop singing group. Athena is in love with a K-pop group called BTS. She admires them very much. Every day she is doing something that is related to BTS–listening to their music, buying their merch and accessories, or reading fanfictions about them. Athena is just as much obsessed with K-pop as Savannah is obsessed with antiques. Two best friends obsessed with completely different things. What could go wrong?

Athena was waiting outside for her friend Savannah to come pick her up. Savannah made Athena get up early so they could be the first ones to enter the new shop that just opened for the old antiques. As Athena was waiting, she heard a car coming down the brick road street. Athena turned her head to the right to see her best friend coming in her old Citroen 2CV; it was a bright yellow color to match her friend’s personality. The car stopped to the side of the road. Savannah rolled down the old window. 

“Get in! We are going to be late!” said Savannah plastering a bright bubbly smile on her face.

“I’m getting there. Hold your horses!” Athena said as she went to the other side of the car and jumped in. She made the old car squeak as she sat down. 

“Yay! I am so excited! This is going to be so much fun!” Savannah screamed with joy while driving back to the main brick road. “Oh my gosh what do you think they will have for sale? Ugh, I can’t wait to try on all the old pretty dresses and look at the cute figurines set up, and th-”

“Would you stop! Jeez, why did I agree to do this with you? You are going to give me a headache. It’s too early for this,” Athena explained, rubbing her already developing headache. 

“Oh, come on! It is going to be fun! You know what? I bet you’ll find something you like.” Athena looked over at Savannah driving the car.

“Do they have any Korean stuff?” Athena asked Savannah, still looking her way. Savannah raised her shoulders up not sure. 

“I’m not sure… You know what? I bet they will. Yeah, they will! So yeah, you’ll definitely find something cool to get!” Savannah said, with the same bright smile on her face but this time a little bit lower.

Athena’s headache went away just a tad hearing the news. She sure hoped she would find something cool from Korean history. Anything Korean she seemed to like. 

The girls pulled up to the new shop built for the old. While Athena took time to get out of Savannah’s old car, Savannah, on the other hand, wasted no time getting out and running to the front door and going right in, completely forgetting about Athena. Athena sighed and followed. 

When Athena entered the antique shop, she was not surprised to see that the shop was just like all the other shops that Athena was dragged to by Savannah. Just entering made Athena want to turn around and go back to her place so she could listen to her K-pop in peace. 

Athena rounded the corner to try and find bubbly Savannah. To no luck, she tried the back of the store. The whole store was covered ceiling to floor of antiques. It was like a maze. Athena was overwhelmed by the musty smell. She soon gave up on trying to find her best friend. Athena was about to go back to the front of the building when something caught her eye.

Hidden in the very back, in a small corner on an old, chipped desk sat something that was bright gold. The gold was so shiny that the lights over head made the color reflect into Athena’s eyes. Everything else in the room was dull and dirty ,but this looked like bright treasure and new. Athena walked over to the old, chipped desk. As she got closer, Athena soon found out the gold shiny thing was an old typewriter. Athena was astonished that something of this old could still look brand new. The sides had golden swirls designed into it. The buttons that typed had sparkly gold letters engraved. The typewriter was a work of art. 

“May I help you miss?”

Athena jumped at the sudden voice. She turned around to see a small, old lady in her late 70s staring up at Athena with a bright smile on her old, chapped lips. This smile was even brighter than Savannah’s. 

“Um, no I think I am good. Thank you, but I was just looking for my friend,” Athena explained.

The old lady smirked up at Athena and put her hands behind her back while she made it over to the old, chipped desk with the bright gold typewriter on top. 

“You sure about that? Because it seemed to me you were admiring this beautiful typewriter.”

Athena did not know what to say to the old lady.

“Come here darling,” the old lady said as she ushered Athena closer. Athena came up close to the typewriter. “See this typewriter? This typewriter is one of a kind. It is called the Parisian Typewriter.”

Athena didn’t want to admit it but she was very intrigued by the typewriter. And, the name. “The Parisian Typewriter? Why is it here? It looks like it should be in a museum.” The old lady looked up at Athena still smiling brightly with her hands behind her back. Her face was covered in wrinkles, and the more she smiled up at Athena, the more the wrinkles would show.  

“Well, young lady, this typewriter is not just any typewriter. It is magic! It is mine. I have had it for a while now. It has been passed down from generation to generation. But, since I do not have any children, I decided to sell it here in my special antique shop. Maybe you, young lady, can be the new owner?” The old lady explained. 

“Magic? How is it magical?” Athena questioned. 

“He he, I thought you would ask that. See this typewriter can make anything come true for the owner of it. Whatever you write down on a piece of paper using the typewriter, it will come true.” The old lady moved her hands back and forth together in an eager way in front of her chest.

Athena was one to believe in magic. But what was happening now sounded too crazy to be true. “That sounds quite interesting, but I don’t think it’s for me,” she said. “Thank you though for telling me about it.” Athena tried to backup away from the old lady. 

“Wait! I really want you to have this. I do not have any children to pass this down to. I would like to give it to you. I believe you have some dreams you would like to make true. Am I right? Dreams you have been wanting to have happen. Maybe even a person you wish you could be with?”

The old lady held on to Athena’s hand in a pleading way. Athena was shaking in fear. How does the lady know all about this? Athena did not like how her hand was being held by the old lady. It made her feel as if she had a huge weight on her, holding her down at the store. Athena was quite scared to say the least. What the old lady was saying made it seem as if she knew Athena and her dreams.

“Listen, I will give the typewriter to you for free. I want you, Athena Minerva Lee, to have it. Make your dreams come true. I believe you deserve it, especially after the loss of your dear mother.”

Athena gasped. Athena started to question how the old lady knew her full name and her mother’s passing. Were they maybe family? No, they could not be. Athena did not have any relatives. So, how did the old lady know? Was the Parisian Typewriter magical?

“I-I I will take it…” Athena told the old lady. The old lady jumped with glee with a wrinkled smile on her face.

“Oh marvelous! I am so glad! I will get a box for you to carry it in. I also will supply you with some paper and ink filler.”

Before Athena could say anything else the old lady walked to the back to get the box, paper, and ink. When she came back, Athena was still standing where she was before. 

“Here you go, dear. If you could pick up the typewriter and put it in the box, that would be great!” Athena did so.

“Oh, Athena! I must also remind you of a very important step to have your dreams and wishes come true!” The old lady explained to Athena again grabbing her hand. 

“W-what is it?” Athena stuttered. 

“You must always first begin with the words ‘To the Parisian Type Writer,’ and end with ‘I wish for it to be, Parisian Typewriter.’ If you do this, your dreams will come true. Also, you cannot wish for death, or to bring someone back to life. If you follow these steps everything will go according to plan.”

Athena did not know what to say. She was too confused to say anything.

“Well, that will be it! I hope you have a wonderful dream Athena Minerva Lee.”

Athena turned back, but the old lady was no longer there. Athena did not want to be in the store anymore. She quickly picked up the heavy box that had the typewriter in it and left as fast as she could. She did not even think of her friend, Savannah. All she wanted to do was get home, safe and far away as possible from the antique shop. Athena did not have the keys for the car, so she walked along the sidewalk all the way to her apartment which was 10 minutes or so away. 

When Athena finally got home, she rushed over to her desk that had her laptop on it and put down the typewriter box. She moved her laptop to the kitchen to make room for the typewriter. Athena did not waste any more time. She hurriedly got the typewriter out and the paper and the ink. She fixed the paper in and situated the ink inside. Athena roughly landed on her chair with her fingers pressed against the keys of the typewriter.

“What to write?” Athena thought aloud. She contemplated what dream she always wished for. After a little bit of thinking, she got it. Athena was going to write a BTS fanfiction. She had everything planned out perfectly. She would make her bias the main character and the other six members’ as side characters. Athena would also make herself a main character, but change her name to a Korean name. Athena smiled to herself, ready to start her dream fanfiction.

“Oh, this will be great! I know exactly what to write.” Athena jumped in her chair excitedly. She got the paper ready and started writing down how the story would go.

 “To the Parisian Typewriter. First, the story will be set in the 1890s in Seoul, South Korea. The main character is me. But since the story is set in Korea, I will be Korean and have a Korean name. My name will be Eun-Jung. I will have long, black, shiny hair and wear the most beautiful dresses wherever I go. I live in the city of Seoul in my small but quaint house that is made of bamboo and wood.

I do not have any friends beside my best friend Park Jimin. Park Jimin is a Royal servant for the Empire and his son, the Prince. Even though he is a servant, he can leave after he is done serving the Royal family. He is my next door neighbor. Jimin is a kind- and soft-hearted person. The other members are Kim Namjoon, Kim Seokjin, Min Yoongi, Jung Hoseok, Kim Taehyung, and Jeon Jungkook. 

Kim Namjoon is the Royal advisor. He makes sure to keep the Royal family balanced and safe, and helps with strategy and knowledge. He is the Prince’s personal teacher. 

The next is Kim Seokjin. Kim Seokjin is the Royal chief. Even though he is not considered royalty, he is very close with the prince. Seokjin raised the Prince when he was younger most of the time.

The next is Min Yoongi. Min Yoongi is a librarian at the Royal Palace. He mostly keeps to himself while he surrounds himself by books. but does have a soft spot for his fellow close friends.

The next is Jung Hoseok. Jung Hoseok is a professional ancient dancer. When the New Year is celebrated, or it is some other holiday, Jung Hoseok is always ready to show his amazing moves for the Royal family. He is mostly free so in his free time he tries to cheer up the Prince the best he can. Hoseok is very bubbly and is always laughing or joking around. He keeps the palace a bright and warm place. 

The next is Jeon Jungkook. Jeon Jungkook is the Royal Knight. He keeps the Royal family safe wherever they go. He is mostly the knight for the Prince. Since he is always by the Prince’s side. the Prince and him have become best friends, even though the Prince will never admit it. 

The last is the beloved Kim Taehyung. Prince Kim Taehyung of South Korea is just like Jasmine in the story Aladdin. He does not want to be the Prince. He wants to be free and away from all the troubles and the pain of the past. His mother Kim Jisoo died in a tragic fire that occurred in the palace late at night. At that time Prince Taehyung was only a little boy. He tried to rescue his mother from the deadly fire but could not do anything because of his small figure.

While she laid on the floor crying for help, all Taehyung could do was watch in horror and cry for help to save his dead mother. Now, in present time, Taehyung has turned cold and unbothered. He barely leaves his personal chamber, and when he does it is to escape out of the palace for a little. Taehyung climbs over the stone walls of the palace by climbing a tree that rests against the inner border of the wall. He then escapes to the outer part of the city. He sits up in a Sakura tree that looks down on a small pond that is of turquoise waters. This is the only place he can escape to, where he can be himself and relax.

The Empire of Seoul Kim Jeong Gyu is trying to make Taehyung get married to a Princess of the Empire’s choice. Taehyung does not want to get married. He believes all the girls are the same and will not be able to understand his true self. He wishes one day he just might find his true love, but for now all he wants to do is be alone. He believes he does not deserve happiness. But one day, his wish comes true. He meets the beautiful Eun-Jung. Eun-Jung gets rescued by Taehyung after she falls into the pond that was deeper than Eun-Jung thought. He is memorized by her beauty, but he remains to be cold hearted. When will Taehyung open his heart up? Will Eun-Jung be able to rescue Taehyung? Or, will they both become heartless?

Athena removed her hands from the gold buttons on the typewriter. “Wow that was amazing. I got so into the plot. Wow! I really wish this could come true.” Athena remembered what the old lady said about the typewriter. Athena was skeptical, but she decided it would not hurt to write out the magical words.

“I wish for it to be, Parisian Typewriter.”

After typing the final letter, the typewriter seemed to be glowing a little. At first Athena thought it was just her eyes playing a trick on her but soon the gold of the typewriter got brighter and brighter until Athena could not see. “What is happening!” Athena shielded her eyes away from the bright gold. She felt as if the sun was right in front of her. “Ah! Make it stop!” After these words, the glow of the bright gold stopped. 

—–

I was too afraid to open my eyes and take my arms away from my face. I was shaking in fear of what was going on. There was a breeze that made my hair slightly move back and forth. The air smelled of flowers and dirt. The smell and the wind confused me. I was in my room still, right? I thought. I slowly took my hands off my face and opened my eyes. What I saw next blew my mind. 

I was no longer in my room. Instead, I was outside. Sitting down on a dirt ground. Next to me was a Sakura tree that was humongous. The pedals of the flowers slowly fell off onto the ground next to me. In front of the tree was a pond of such a turquoise color it almost looked fake. Tall grass and flowers surrounded the edge of the pond. There was also a little dock balcony that went onto the water a little bit. 

I was in my story. Everything was exactly how I imagined it to be. Wait if this is exactly how I imagined it then that means…

I jumped up from the floor going to the edge of the dock balcony. I bent down to investigate the water. You could see your reflection in the water, but what I saw in the reflection was not my face. It was Eun-Jung’s face. I had everything. The long silky black hair. The beautiful fair skin. Even the perfect gorgeous dress in a light pink color.

“Thi-this can’t be me! How is this possible! I am French not Asian! I cannot believe this happened! What am I goin-” I didn’t get to finish my question for myself because I fell in the pond. I resurfaced and tried to swim back over to the top of the deck. The pond was deep. I was sinking. I was never a good swimmer. I could not believe I was going to die in my own story.

“Someone help me! Someone, please! I’m drowning!” I shouted for help. I kept sinking more and more, getting water in my mouth and nose. Before my whole head was about to go down, I saw something from up above on the deck. It was a hand reaching for me. 

“Here! Take my hand!”

It was a man’s voice. Before I could sink more, I quickly reached for the hand. The mysterious man pulled me with what seemed to be no effort. As he pulled me closer, he used his other hand to lift me up by putting it on my waist. Soon, I was out of the water. I started to cough from all the water I was swallowing.

“Are you alright, Miss?” The mysterious man asked.

I looked up to see the most breathtaking man I have ever seen. He had black, fluffy, medium length hair. His eyes were of a brown color. They were as clear as a diamond. One of them was a mono lid, while the other was a double lid. He was wearing a purple, gold, and white traditional Hanbok. This man was no longer a mysterious man. This man was Kim Taehyung. 

“Taehyung, it’s really you isn’t it?”

Taehyung’s eyes widened in surprise. “How did you recognize me!? I never come out of the palace!” His grip on me got tighter than before.

“Why wouldn’t I recognize you?” I looked up into his eyes scared. 

“Aish! Just do not tell anyone I am here, okay? Also why aren’t you addressing me properly? I am the Prince of Seoul Kim Taehyung; you are supposed to address me properly!”

His grip on me tightened. My eyes widened in surprise. I forgot in my story I made him the Prince. I must act as if I am from here. “Oh my! Your majesty, I am deeply sorry for not addressing you properly! Please, forgive me!” I got away from his hold and bowed down all the way to the floor with my head resting on the wooden dock. 

“Hmm, you’re forgiven as long as you don’t tell anybody I am here. Do you understand?” I got up from the floor to see his arms crossed over his chest and his eyebrow raised.

“That’s hot… ” I thought I said to myself.  

“Excuse me?” My eyes widened in horror. I just said he was hot out loud.

“Um what Prince Taehyung? I didn’t say anything.” I bated my eyes to hopefully look innocent. 

“Whatever. Just promise you won’t reveal my location,” Prince Taehyung said.

“Yes, I promise,” I replied.

“Good. Now leave me be; I am going back to my tree. Try not to fall into the pond again. We are humans not fish.”

I dropped my jaw down in shock. Why is Taehyung so rude in this world! Oh, right, I made him this way… I knew I needed to find a way out of my story. I looked back to where I was first when I came here. There was something on the floor. I walked over to the spot I first was. My clothes weighed more because of the water. Also, my hair was dripping. When I got to the place I was in the beginning, there on the floor was a scroll, ink, and a Chinese writing pin. The typewriter must have turned into this since typewriters don’t exist in this period, I thought to myself.  All I have to do is write to go back.

I bent down onto the floor. I laid the scroll flat and got the brush head soaked in the thick black ink.

“To the Parisian Typewriter. I want to go back home to Paris, France. I want to return to my original body and soul, Athena Minerva Lee. I wish for it to be, Parisian Typewriter.”

As I finished the final stroke of the brush, I picked the scroll up and waited for it to return me back. I waited and waited, but nothing happened. The scroll was not glowing gold like before.

“No, no, this isn’t good! What do I do?!” I tried shaking the scroll to hopefully make the magic come out, but again nothing happened. I was scared for my whole life. I was stuck as Eun-Jung. I was stuck in the past. I was stuck here in Seoul, South Korea with the cold-hearted Prince and the other six members of BTS. What could go wrong?  

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

You may also like...