To be a Teenager

Watch author Destiny Bradfield perform her spoken word poem by clicking here.

Original artwork by Destiny Bradfield

I’m just a teenager,

Wild, rampant, and free.

I’m just a teenager,

But most adults don’t understand me…

Teachers say: “Do your homework; it only takes half an hour.”

Well I’ve got a job, six other classes, and chores,

I don’t have enough time to complete yours.

I’m just a teenager.

I work 20-hours a week to pay for my paper and my books,

I stay up ’till damn near dawn to get my work done,

While a single mom of three works two jobs to provide food for my siblings and me.

I’m just a teenager.

I dozed off in class today…

It’s been three days since I’ve slept,

But I’m punished on the spot.

I’m just a teenager.

Exams are happening soon,

I can feel the breakdown coming,

But I push it down.

My classes are at noon.

I’m just a teenager.

I’ve made a bad decision,

Don’t ask why; I don’t know.

My brain just won’t work right.

I’m just a teenager.

I share a room that nobody will help me clean.

I force a smile as inside my OCD is killing me,

And the couch begins to look like my home.

I’m just a teenager.

Weren’t you all teenagers too?

Perceived as wild, rampant, and free?

A worn-down, misunderstood teenager?

Because you used to understand me…

Please, I’m just a teenager.

-By Destiny Bradfield

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

You may also like...