I Needed Teachers Like These

By Ava Cluck

There are no words for how thankful I am that I got good teachers for my last year of high school. I have been taught by the kindest, most patient teachers one could ask for. These teachers deserve only the best in life; I truly do believe they’ve made a great impact on my life.

Throughout middle school and high school, I’ve met some great challenges. At times, the stressful subject matter gave me nightmares, made me cry, and stationed me in a scared, worrisome state that not only affected me, but my friends and family.

Things only got worse though, as by the time I had entered high school, I had lost my father. I would soon learn that my grandma had cancer, and after that, the pandemic would start.

I chose to stay home and spend my junior year doing schoolwork online. This would prove difficult as I was no longer face-to-face with my teachers or peers. That year had taken a toll on me, and I decided that I absolutely had to return to school the following year.

The teachers I met in the first and second semester of my senior year were some of the best teachers I have ever met in all my years of schooling.

The teachers recognized the troubles and issues I faced and tried their hardest to get me into a better place of mind. They took a stressful schooling environment and made it into a safe learning environment in which I could feel comfortable.

The subject matter presented to me in my senior year also felt easier to combat. I still had to work hard for my grades, but I was able to do so without getting too stressed out.

The teachers are the reason everything felt easier. They managed to find a way to make school less of a battle, and more like that of an opportunity.

The teachers were kind to me, and I did my best to return that kindness. They showed the greatest extent of patience, never once getting frustrated at me or the class for not understanding something.

I wish only good things for my teachers. I hope that in the future, after dealing with the global pandemic and worsening conditions around the country, they receive a better salary, one they deserve.

To the teachers that taught me in my senior year, I couldn’t have gotten through this year without you. Thank you.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

You may also like...