A Poetry Collection For You

For years I would pretend you were holding me at night.
It was the only thing to keep the demons away.
Time exposes a person’s true intentions.
Turns out you were the cruelest demon of them all.

Realization
Though there are signs he likes you, take a moment to think.
Is it really a sign?
Perhaps you just want it to be.
Take a moment to clear your head.
No matter what attention you give,
the way they feel will not be affected

Presence Changes Everything
Without you I hate you.
I cannot stand you.
I want to punch you.
Yell at you.
Tell you how much I do not need you.

With you, I tell you how much I do need you.
I stare at you.
I kiss you.
I cannot be away from you.
I love you.

The Plan
The plan was to forget you. To erase you one memory at a time. To leave the love I had for you in the past and walk towards my future. But you follow me everywhere I go. I still feel your breath on my neck and hands on my waist. I see you in my dreams, when our song plays on the radio, even in the poetry I write. No matter where, I see our ghosts chasing each other around this small town. But the plan was to forget you.

God’s Plan
He has had this day planned for you before the creation on the moon, stars, and the water that flows into the everlasting falls of his kingdom.

Point of View
I wish you could see yourself from my point of view.
How charming and handsome you are even when you are blue.
You may have problems, but I do too.
Every cut and scar compiles to make you.
One burst of laughter from your lips makes me feel like I grew.
The only unfortunate thing is you will never truly know my point of view.

A Lost Dream
I have nothing left for you. I am empty. I have given you all I could give then gave you some more. I chipped away at myself in hopes of providing all I could for you, in return I got nothing but empty promises and heartache.

By Dezarae Katzor

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

You may also like...